Skip to content

Afternoon of Fauns: Finnish Mindscapes

From the opening of Jean Sibelius's unfinished string trio to Valtonen's pioneering Gameboy duo premiere, Finnish music's day resonates at...

Date 08.12.2024 15.00

VenueTampere Philharmonic Orchestra, Tampere Hall, Small Auditorium

Six musicians playing and sitting, violinists and wind indstrument players.


Individual tickets for Autumn 2024 will go on sale Monday 3.6 at 9:00.

Adults 17 €
Seniors 10 €
Students, conscripts and unemployed 7 €
Children and adolescents under age of 18 7 €

Jean Sibelius: String Trio in G minor Katri Nikkanen, violin, Kimmo Kivivuori, viola and Sampo Liukko, cello

Jonne Valtonen: World premiere, to be announced Aleksi Mäkimattila, horn

Kalevi Aho: Lamento for two violins Lotta Laaksonen, violin

Jörg Duda: Wind Quintet No. 12 “Tampere”, World premiere I Tammerkoski II Bucolico Pyynikki – Pispala III Scherzino Tampella – Kaleva IV Intermezzo Näsinpuisto – Finlayson V Alla Cappella Tuomiokirkko VI Rondo fugato Hämeensilta Annaleena Jämsä, flute, Juha Ala, oboe, Janne Pesonen, clarinet, Aleksei Dmitriev, bassoon and Ismo Ponkala, horn

From the opening of Jean Sibelius’s unfinished string trio to Valtonen’s pioneering Gameboy duo premiere, Finnish music’s day resonates at the vivid crossroads of tradition and innovation. Experience the profound elegy of Kalevi Aho’s Lamento, a soulful tribute to violinist Sakari Laukola, composed in 2001. And feel the quintessentially melodic wind quintet of neo-Romantic Jörg Duda, a love letter to the city of Tampere.

The concert includes an intermission and will last about two hours.

Changes are possible.

Production by Tampere Philharmonic Orchestra